Adult Ed: Modernizing Judaism

Judaism is arguably the oldest "organized religion" in history. In its more than three thousand years it has repeatedly encountered challenges on every possible level, adapting yet maintaining continuity. In modern times each traditional aspect of Judaism has been questioned by some movement or thinker. The result has been a plethora of approaches to what can be dropped as obsolete, what must be preserved, what should be revised: concepts of God, the makeup of Jewish community, the synagogue, meaningful practices and rituals — even the nature of Jewish people-hood. What is Jewish identity now — in the face of modern science, modern conceptions of citizenship — and modern antiSemitism?
In this year's series we will discuss selected philosophies, ideologies, and theologies of Jewish thinkers from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present.
At each session our smart and opinionated participants discuss an essay or a chapter of a book — and enjoy themselves learning and thinking. Our group consists of interested, interesting members of Temple Beth Shalom who love to read about different aspects of Jewish history and discuss what they meant in the past and how they relate to our time. We have been doing this for twenty years — and new members are warmly welcomed.

Teacher: Rabbi Robert Seltzer
Time: First and third Wednesday of each month. 7:30-9:00 pm
First Meeting: October 7
Place: Red Room

Wednesday, January 6, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, January 13, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, January 20, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, March 16, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, April 6, 2016 - 7:30pm
Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 7:30pm